How to Identify Spam on Facebook

Facebook might just be the biggest thing to happen to the internet since Google. With over a billion users and counting and being the inspiration behind an award winning movie; the burgeoning social media website has provided a solid platform for its vast user base to share their life experiences, upload pictures and videos of those funny or cherished moments, or simply enjoy a game of Farmville with family and friends. However, despite of all the countless goodies, not all is hunky dory for the social media giant which has popularized the “Like” and “Poke” buttons all over the world.

The internet might be everywhere but so are spammers, and the mother of all social networking websites has been on the hit list of the notorious for quite some time now. With 1/7th of the planet as its customers, these spammers aim to trick that enormous clientele into participating in quizzes, apps or games that pave the way for malware to enter ones system in disguise.

It doesn’t take a lot of spying on Facebook for one to conclude that it’s become an integral part of our lives. And it’s only fair that the time spent on the enormously popular website is free of all kinds of threats. Here’s a look at some ways to improve your Facebook experience by identifying spammers and avoiding their misleading banter:

Bookmarklets

Bookmarklets are a type of javascript URL’s that can appear on the wall of a user in the form of an swf file. Clicking on the file reveals a short snippet of code which asks to be pasted in the address bar of the browser. Doing so will execute the code giving the author the permission to act on your behalf and gain access to cookies of whatever websites you’ve visited. Cookies can contain sensitive information in some cases including login and password details.

Banners

Banners that claim to have scanned your system for viruses are becoming more and more common each day. To show their legitimacy these banners flash repeatedly and come complete with a warning sign to create a sense of urgency thus panicking the uninformed and causing them to click on that particular banner to rid their system of malware. However, little to do they know, they’ve done the exact opposite. Clicking will cause spywares to be installed on your system opening the way for malware to enter and spread.

If you suspect your system is hosting viruses then the right thing to do would be to run an antivirus scan from trusted sources like Norton, AVG or McAfee among many others.

Signing in Again

Sometimes common sense can save you a lot of hassle. If you’re already signed into Facebook and are asked to sign back in again at some point to participate in a survey, watch a video or access an app then it’s a sign that you are being targeted by password phishers. This may seem something out of The Godfather but real Facebook accounts sell for a lot of money on the black market. Legitimate Facebook apps only ask you to grant permission to the app to access any information that you have posted about yourself instead of asking you to sign back in.

One way to avoid this scam would be to check the URL in the address bar of your browser. If it shows facebook.com at the time of signing in then you’re safe.

Following these simple steps can improve your online social networking experience instead of worrying about nuisances that hinder your process of stalking your friends and sharing that hilarious cute kitten video you stumbled upon on YouTube.

Founder Of LineshJose.Com, coder, thinker, geek, music addict also design and build awesome softwares for living.